Start a new topic

Kit Products (v9.5) - size & color, reusing kit groups, and other questions

Hi all!

Sorry, I'm not good at brevity, but the tl;dr is - What's the best way to set up a product with about nine different variables?

My site (frameitwabanstore.com v9.5.1) offers, among other things, picture-framing supplies. What I'm trying to do is offer custom foil-printed text on our full selection of matting. We already have the mats set up: five different sizes, each with an average of a dozen configurations of window sizes and arrangements, in 15 different colors. We want to offer customer-input text in four different fonts, four different colors, and four different positions on the mat.

I can more or less convey all the necessary options in a kit, with a lot of graphics for visual aids, but there's going to be a lot of redundancy in this approach. Since it appears that:

-one cannot assign a kit group to multiple products (KitGroupID is the product key, and ProductID is an integer,)

-one cannot use size & color modifiers in a kit item,

-one cannot reference existing photos for a kit item that was added by variant number,

-one cannot use Image Filename Override in a kit group,

I'm gonna end up making the same six kit groups, as well as loading color swatches & font samples for roughly 30 kit items, about 15 times each.

Any customization I can think of to simplify this kit (eg, tying the font-family and font-color selectors to events that update the CSS of the user input text) are beyond my skill level. Any ideas for making this less clunky to look at and less difficult to update/maintain later would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
-Bill

Hi Bill, our site (FromuthTennis.com) offers unstrung tennis racquets and there's an option to string the racquet.  We also sell those strings on the website.

We basically had to do exactly what you are saying. We have a repeated KitGroup that contains all of our tennis strings.